Where did the most well known guitarists study?

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
edcat7

Where did the most well known guitarists study?

Post by edcat7 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:22 pm

I was flipping through the Royal Academy of Music's past students, since my teacher is a post-grad there and I was surprised at the number of well known guitarists who had graduated from there: Milos Karadaglic, Xuefei Yang, David Russell and our own Gary Ryan.

With these illustrious past students there must be pressure/expectation to succeed.

Where else have other 'celebrities' graduated from?
Remember Anthony Weller, please help. Contact myself or Aaron Green for details.

alfaalex101

Re: Where did the most well known guitarists study?

Post by alfaalex101 » Sun May 28, 2017 11:47 pm

Berklee or just studying other guitar "God's" like Joe Satriani or EVH

ddray

Post by ddray » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:10 pm

As far as I know Segovia was pretty much self-taught; Bream and Williams studied piano at the Royal College of Music; Parkening was a prodigy of sorts and was already touring when he was a teenager. I don't think there were guitar departments in colleges of music when those 4 were in their formative years. It was because of them and others that the guitar is now studied seriously in universities.
Last edited by ddray on Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andrew Fryer

Post by Andrew Fryer » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:18 pm

alfaalex101 wrote:
Sun May 28, 2017 11:47 pm
Berklee or just studying other guitar "God's" like Joe Satriani or EVH
If you hadn't put an apostrophe in gods, you wouldn't have had to put the whole thing in double quotes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/ironic overuse of shrieks]
1975 Calatayud y Gisbert, Yamaha CG131S.

Peter Lovett

Post by Peter Lovett » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:32 am