Position dots

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
Hany Hayek

Position dots

Post by Hany Hayek » Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:12 pm

I don't have these on my guitar. I had to improvise and made the markings (with white tape) on the side of the fingerboard at 3rd, 5th and 7th fret. It's a special removable tape that will not leave any trace.
I am not quite used yet to the guitar's upper positions.
I almost forgot about them on the mandolin.. I have been playing for 5 years. I now go all the way up the fret board. sometimes I get lost and look for the dots :oops:
I never though they existed on any instruments when I played the violin 25 years ago :D
I guess after a while I'll forget about them on the guitar as well.
Looking for your opinions on this :?:

Alan Green

Re: Position dots

Post by Alan Green » Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:31 pm

If they help - leave them on the neck

If they don't - ditch them

Poncho

Post by Poncho » Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:42 pm

I put a little dab of 'White Out' correction fluid at those positions. Doesn't hurt the guitar and is easy to get off. I've tried the dots you can buy but their expensive, a little hard to apply, and eventually move around or come off.

Andrew Pohlman

Post by Andrew Pohlman » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:44 pm

I use Avery labels and I punch out dots with a single hole paper punch. Works great! No residue when I want to get them off for photos and such. Many solutions. Purists hate dots. I love them. But then, I'm an anarchist. :D
2013 Rodriguez FF Sabicas blanco
2015 Trevor Gore custom Neoclassical
- redwood top, Palo dorado B+Ss.

Kurt Penner

Post by Kurt Penner » Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:19 pm

My recent pieces involve play above and beyond the 12th fret. I use large pieces of green masking tape at a few key positions. I don't see why this is a matter of great pride to people.

Kp

spanishguitarmusic

Post by spanishguitarmusic » Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:30 pm

Poncho wrote:
Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:42 pm