Hitting a Plateau

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
Mike Steede

Hitting a Plateau

Post by Mike Steede » Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:37 am

Hi folks,

Has anyone been banging their head against their music stand, only to find they've hit a plateau in playing, and in fact seem to be back sliding or at least feeling that way? What tricks has anyone used to get past this?

Best / Mike S.
2017 Steven Ganz '37 Hauser
2017 Yamaha NCX900FM
"Talking about music is like dancing about architecture" - Frank Zappa

Hany Hayek

Re: Hitting a Plateau

Post by Hany Hayek » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:16 am

You need to change the book / exercises or type of music you are playing, even if at least for a little while.
You'll also need to play with someone. I have been doing this for 6 years with the mandolin. A couple of years back when I reached a plateau i couldn't overcome, I took lessons for a few months. Good teachers help a lot in these cases.

PeteJ

Post by PeteJ » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:19 am

Just keep trudging across the plateau. Eventually the ground starts rising.

Chris

Post by Chris » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:22 am

Oh yes - last time was some 20 years ago and I quit playing.

What is specifically holding you back right now? Is it a particular piece, motivation, expectations from others or yourself, a specific technique, what?

Sometimes we need to give ourselves a break to step back and re-frame, re-learn or remember what we love about playing. It's a natural part of the learning process.

Chris

Post by Chris » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:33 am

BTW Here's a guy who thought he was going be Mozart but ended up feeling like Salieri and wrote a book about it. His name is Glenn Kurtz and I thought his story was relevant:

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/stor ... d=12843867

lagartija

Post by lagartija » Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:23 am