Things to do in Midwest US

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
tormodg

Things to do in Midwest US

Post by tormodg » Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:37 pm

Hey folks,

I am leaving Oslo, Norway on Saturday to go on a road trip for the next 18 days, starting from Chicago and going around Lake Michigan through Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and possibly Missouri. My goal is Rock Island, IL, where I'll attend homecoming at Augustana College.

This is where I got my Bachelor of Music Performance in classical guitar 25 years ago (just to ensure that this post is relevant :) ).

I am bringing my youngest daughter (14 yo) for the entire trip.

I am grateful for ideas and recommendations for things to do, see and experience on our trip.
2017 Yngvar Thomassen spruce
1994 Alhambra 6P (cedar, battered, broken and repaired)
+ various steel string and electric guitars

Sold: 2014 Alhambra Linea Profesional (spruce)

Lovemyguitar

Re: Things to do in Midwest US

Post by Lovemyguitar » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:00 pm

Admire the corn and soy fields?

Kent

Post by Kent » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:36 pm

Peak of the leaf color season, so it should be beautiful. The sky is never more blue than Early October in the midwest.

Andrew Pohlman

Post by Andrew Pohlman » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:48 pm

Are you looking for traditional Midwestern culture? Or big city culture? Because you can find both.

Chicago is a huge metropolitan area and you can find everything from hotdogs and Chicago stuffed pizza to opera and fine dining and plenty of pickpockets to keep you on your toes... Chicago is the sausage capitol of America, so trying some dogs there is a must do lunch/dinner event. Mmm .... Chicago hotdogs!
Chicago dog.jpg