The Unwelcoming Style of (some) Academic Text Books

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
Adrian Allan

The Unwelcoming Style of (some) Academic Text Books

Post by Adrian Allan » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:11 pm

I am studying for a masters in history at the moment, and sometimes reading the set texts reminds me of my student days; they can be written in a style that is fairly off-putting. You know what I mean, sentences that lose their structure and direction, paragraphs that last for an entire page (this is not uncommon in history books), and passages that you have to read a few times in order to fully extract any meaning.

Do you think that academic books should be partly rated on their accessibility? I know that some subjects are not necessarily easy to grasp, but the way in which some academic works are presented to the reader really does not help the process of understanding.

I am certainly dead against dumbing-down for the sake of it, but I do think that some academics stylistically have the ability to be more lucid than others, and some writers really don't engage the reader at all.

What do you think?
D'Ammassa Spruce/Spruce Double Top

doralikesmath

Re: The Unwelcoming Style of (some) Academic Text Books

Post by doralikesmath » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:41 pm

I don't know about other subjects, but most academic books in mathematics that I've read will be rated really low if we really rate them on accessibility. It is on the opposite end of what you described, actually. Most of the math books I've read are too dry and concise that sometimes it took me days to understand just 2 pages long of materials. One of the reasons I guess it that the authors of those books have spent years researching about the problems and what's hard to students are obvious to them...
Raimundo 148 Cedar - "Julia"
L. T. An Guitar C150 Spruce
Takamine G128 Spruce

Adrian Allan

Post by Adrian Allan » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:44 pm

doralikesmath wrote: