Effects of leaving treble strings on for prolonged periods?

Choice of classical guitar strings and technical issues connected with their use.
hesson11

Effects of leaving treble strings on for prolonged periods?

Post by hesson11 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:17 pm

I've been playing for many years and have always tended to change all 6 strings at the same time. But I've often read of those who prefer to change the bass strings relatively frequently while leaving the trebles in place. The implication is that the trebles improve or at least change in some way.

What I'm wondering is what are the specific effects you may have noticed when leaving the treble strings on for longer periods. Do they get brighter and more sharply defined? Warmer and rounder? More powerful? More refined? Other? Or is it simply that the trebles don't deteriorate as quickly as the wound basses? Any thoughts would be appreciated. THANKS.
-Bob

petermc61

Re: Effects of leaving treble strings on for prolonged periods?

Post by petermc61 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:58 pm

They don't tend to deteriorate as quickly from a sound quality perspective. I probably change treble strings just as often because they have gotten a bit scratchy from my nails, or because I just want to experiment with something else.

Beowulf

Post by Beowulf » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:49 pm

I change all at once and have for over 50 years now. Yes, the bass strings deteriorate more rapidly than the treble...with the D string tending to be the most fragile. My experience has been that once the bass strings need replacing, even the treble strings have lost a bit of life and vibrancy and if they are not changed at the same time, the balance between bass and treble suffers. However, that is just me and I tend to use a set for 2-3 months (5-7 hours per week on average).
1971 Yamaha GC-10

astro64

Post by astro64 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:03 am