Thinking of going hard or high tension

Choice of classical guitar strings and technical issues connected with their use.
Dylan

Thinking of going hard or high tension

Post by Dylan » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:28 pm

I usually play with low or light tension strings but recently have been contemplating experimenting with hard strings. What are your thoughts on the difference? Also, what strings do you recommend? Try to stay on the cheaper side, I'm a grad student! Lastly, what are carbon strings and what are their benefits?

MessyTendon

Re: Thinking of going hard or high tension

Post by MessyTendon » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:18 pm

Only way way to find out :)

guitarrista

Post by guitarrista » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:36 pm

Just do this and examine the results:
hightensionstrings.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Konstantin
--
1982 Anselmo Solar Gonzalez

Laudiesdad69

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:57 pm

I will usually use hard tension strings on short scale guitars, just because the tension is lower with a short scale and it helps keep the strings from feeling like wet spaghetti noodles. Hence, my wife's 610mm with hard tension strings that would have 103 lbs of tension if it was a 650mm, gives much less tension according to D'Addarios string calculator.

joachim33

Post by joachim33 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:21 pm

Dylan wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:28 pm
I usually play with low or light tension strings but recently have been contemplating experimenting with hard strings. What are your thoughts on the difference? Also, what strings do you recommend? Try to stay on the cheaper side, I'm a grad student! Lastly, what are carbon strings and what are their benefits?
You have s tutor? I would seek his/her input.

If you want to understand the effect of tension, I would use a higher tension version of the string you are currently using. That gets manufacturer and model out of the equation.

Laudiesdad69