The Lute in Hymnody of Martin Luther

Under this heading you can announce your own events and work products, including the publications of books, magazines, sheet music, CDs, videos, guitars you build, professional events like shows, training courses, festivals and competitions. Any member of the forum who wishes, may open a thread in this forum (but only one) using his/her name for the promotion of their efforts without limitation on the number of posts.
Guitardunord

The Lute in Hymnody of Martin Luther

Post by Guitardunord » Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:41 pm

I am primarily a classical and flamenco guitarist, but I also play Renaissance lute. I do a program on The Music of Martin Luther. He was a talented musician; singer, lutenist, and composer. He believed the worship service had declined to that of a theatrical event and felt that the best way to involve the congregation was through hymnody. For this, Luther was called the Father of Congregational Song. He was a fine lutenist and did all of his composing on the lute.The early hymns were incredible, documenting former students of his who were burned at the stake for heresy. Great historical information that most do not know.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

David Norton

Re: The Lute in Hymnody of Martin Luther

Post by David Norton » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:43 pm

Interesting! I wish I was a few hundred miles closer and could attend one of your performances.
David Norton
Salt Lake City, UT

CathyCate

Post by CathyCate » Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:42 am

Thanks for posting this information.
How far would you be willing to travel to present a lecture demonstration?
If Michigan is not out of the question, please send me a PM.

Guitardunord

Post by Guitardunord » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:22 am

Thank you!

Guitardunord

Post by Guitardunord » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:25 am

David_Norton wrote:Interesting! I wish I was a few hundred miles closer and could attend one of your performances.