What bad habits can I develop without a teacher

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Hany Hayek

What bad habits can I develop without a teacher

Postby Hany Hayek » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:13 pm

I recently bought my first CG, I have Carulli first volume revised by Tersi, I got Parkening Guitar Method, I watch lots of video lessons on youtube. I doing my best to learn by myself for the time. Nothing against having a teacher, just not for now.
I played classical violin when I was 16 years old, and had a teacher for 5 years.
I started playing the mandolin 5 years ago, self taught, last year I got back to my old violin teacher to help me with the mandolin. Today I am almost at grade 5 (advanced). No mandolin teachers where I am :(
The point is I have some experience in music and in self teaching. But what I am scared of most is developing bad habits that cannot be rectified easily in the future. What would these be in CG.
Feedback would help avoiding bad habits

Hany

lagartija

Re: What bad habits can I develop without a teacher

Postby lagartija » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:33 pm

Probably the teachers here on the forum will chime in with the best answers, but the ones that occur to me immediately would be problems resulting from poor positioning posture with the instrument and excessive right hand tension. Both of your other instruments are positioned differently from the guitar, and the job of the right hand in both mandolin and violin are greatly different from guitar (assuming you were playing mandolin with a plectrum).
When the sun shines, bask.
__/^^^^^o>
Classical Guitar forever!

Hany Hayek

Postby Hany Hayek » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:43 pm

Yes I play the mandolin with a plectrum.
I already noticed that the right hand is what I am struggling with most now. It ends up resting on the soundboard :oops: