RH technique

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
robk

RH technique

Post by robk » Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:20 pm

As an absolute beginner I wonder about the following:
Every teacher/teaching book says you have to alternate your fingers according to i-m or m-a.
I understand and acknowledge that this is quite useful for playing quarters, eights or 16Th if they are in a progression.
But what if you arrived at the end of a phrase - is it still important to keep strictly to the i-m pattern?
I mean, when I play a half note or a rest, I have simply forgotten which finger I used to strike the last string.
Also I have the experience that when you go from e.g. the D-string to the g-string it is much easier to use the same finger (but probably that is my own problem..)

AndreiKrylov

Re: RH technique

Post by AndreiKrylov » Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:37 pm

robk wrote:As an absolute beginner I wonder about the following:
Every teacher/teaching book says you have to alternate your fingers according to i-m or m-a.
I understand and acknowledge that this is quite useful for playing quarters, eights or 16Th if they are in a progression.
But what if you arrived at the end of a phrase - is it still important to keep strictly to the i-m pattern?
I mean, when I play a half note or a rest, I have simply forgotten which finger I used to strike the last string.
Also I have the experience that when you go from e.g. the D-string to the g-string it is much easier to use the same finger (but probably that is my own problem..)
You probably talking about certain piece or exercise.
Or playing some kind of melodic lines .
- if so then do what your teacher told to you.
And - Yes, it is good to alternate RH fingers, but it could be different in each piece according to patterns in it. Especiallyif it is arpeggio like...