What was your first tremolo piece?

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Laudiesdad69

What was your first tremolo piece?

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:01 am

I am wondering if I should learn Recuerdos de la Alhambra. I've never learned a proper tremolo piece before, but I can do it. I sat four feet away from Sharon Isbin today and watched her right hand. I saw the pattern and I understood it. I've played guitar since 1984. I used to play Malmsteen's suff on the electric and thus the left hand of Recuerdos is of no concern.

I've been playing classical for two years and I have never got around to doing a proper tremolo piece. When I saw Isbin do it today, I thought "I can do that"! i already can do the right hand, but am wondering what grade level Recuerdos is? And I am amazed that it was so simple.

I kind of like the "guitar gargling" sound, but I've only ever done tremolo as a joke( I used to do the solo from Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit on the classical because it sounded like the Weird Al version. Is this a good piece to start with? What was your first tremolo piece.

Rick Hutt

Re: What was your first tremolo piece?

Post by Rick Hutt » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:26 pm

"Recuerdos" was my first tremolo piece. My teacher assigned it after about three years of study. Started very slowly, worked up to concert speed in about three months. "Pumping Nylon" has a good tremolo exercise which is useful for variety sake.
2010 Pimentel & Sons Concert Grand
1970 Taurus (Barcelona)
2009 Ramundi flamenco blanca
1962 Martin 0-16
2000 Martin 000-18
1963 Epiphone 12 Str

Julian Ward

Post by Julian Ward » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:51 pm