Thoughts on "noodling"?

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Phade

Thoughts on "noodling"?

Post by Phade » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:40 pm

I'm stepping back into classical guitar, and guitar in general after decades long hiatus, I was a novice then and I'm a novice now. One of the things that always seperated classical and regualar steel string acoustic, for me anyway, was the more relaxed approach to steel string. I would get a hankering to make some noise, grab my guitar, lean back on the couch and just go to town. Sometime i would try and pick apart a song or look up some tabs, or even just run scales while i watched a movie. Classical, was different approach and mindset entirely. I would break out the guitar, the footrest, the music stand, the metronome, and the little silicone drawer liner scrap i cut to keep the guitar from sliding up and down my thigh. there was the 5-10 minute warm up with right hand exercise, and scales, then on to the aron shearer (sp?) book. I loved it, but it could be mentally exhausting sometimes, and occasionally kind of stressful. Does anybody just kind of kick back and noodle on their classsical? can this lead to bad form or technique? I'm longer in the tooth these days, and dont have the cpacity to focus or concentrate like i used to, age and a few too many head injuries are taking their toll, i'm just looking for a little ballance i guess. anybody have any thoughts?

Rick Hutt

Re: Thoughts on "noodling"?

Post by Rick Hutt » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:54 pm