If I could turn back time!

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Adam Puryear

If I could turn back time!

Post by Adam Puryear » Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:37 pm

As a classically trained pianist I realize that the struggle to develop my technique has existed since I began my journey and will continue to exist until the day I can no longer play. I know when I was young I wanted everything to progress very quickly. I guess the desire for instant gratification run rampant in me, and I would often pay little attention to detail as long as I could play something fast, loud, and seemingly impressive. To say the least, this left giant holes in my musicianship for many years, until I began to study at the university and realized my deficiencies. Now as I work on a Chopin Etude (op.10 no. 2) I tend to get a stitch in my back after I have worked on it over an hour or so. Again, when I am practicing the 'Waldstein' Sonata of Beethoven and I can't quite get the trills near the end fast or even enough while I have to play a melody over them with the same hand. How well I have come to know that these problems are very much technique related.