Tone production

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
rafitas123

Tone production

Post by rafitas123 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:30 pm

Hello all,

I am an amateur player with a reasonable level of technique. Even though I can play some pieces like Vals Venozalono 2 and 3, Choro N1, Etude N1. I feel that my tone production is very poor. What could I do to get more sound of my guitar :P and improve further my playing?

Thank you,
Rafael

lagartija

Re: Tone production

Post by lagartija » Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:21 pm

The best thing would be to work with a good teacher. :-)
If there is not one near you, there are some who will give lessons by Skype. Not nearly as good as face to face, though.
Your hand position, the stroke you use, your nail shape and length...so many things affect your tone quality and projection.
If you go to masterclasses or guitar festivals, you can sometimes get some insights , but best would be regular lessons where your particular issues can be addressed.
When the sun shines, bask.
__/^^^^^o>
Classical Guitar forever!

rafitas123

Post by rafitas123 » Thu Jul 06, 2017 7:39 am

Thank you for the reply! I am already working with a very good teacher but I still think I need a lot to play good. :)
We are focusing at the moment in a type of music called choro and the function of the 7 strings guitar as an accompaniment instrument. Attending masterclasses to improve further my playing is a great idea, I will look out to find them around!

rojarosguitar

Post by rojarosguitar » Thu Jul 06, 2017 1:30 pm