Sight Reading beginner

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Alex65

Sight Reading beginner

Post by Alex65 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:37 am

As I recently started playing CG again and wanted to setup a good practice routine, I learned about sight reading, to me a new term. When searching online I'm overwhelmed with information. Would anyone explain to me how this works exactly and what is a good starting point. Thanks.

Erik Zurcher

Re: Sight Reading beginner

Post by Erik Zurcher » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:51 am

From Wikipedia: "Sight-reading, also called a prima vista (Italian meaning "at first sight"), is the reading and performing of a piece of music or song in music notation that the performer has not seen before."

I assume that you wish to learn music notation. You may find this useful:
viewtopic.php?f=130&t=79606
Reedition Domingo Esteso by Conde Hermanos 2004; Kenny Hill, model Barcelona 2001
"While you try to master classical guitar, prepare for a slave's life: the guitar will forever be your master and you its slave".

Alex65

Post by Alex65 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:28 am

Thanks Erik, these diagrams are really helpful. To give you an idea of my current level, I'm working at Carcassi's op 60 no 7 at the moment. But for sight reading practise I have to study the piece until I'm convinced I can played it right at once, right? So I have to get back to really easy pieces to start with. How do I find scores that fit that level? Also there are alot of apps and books for sight reading. Are they any useful?

tormodg

Post by tormodg » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:44 am

Alex65 wrote:
Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:28 am
But for sight reading practise I have to study the piece until I'm convinced I can played it right at once, right?