Self taught - seeking feedback

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
JNWills

Self taught - seeking feedback

Post by JNWills » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:59 pm

I'm mostly self taught when it comes to CG. I'd love to get some honest critiques. Here is a performance of a short piece by Tarrega called Andante Sostenuto. To be more specific, I primarily play electric guitar with a pick. I do not have nails, which seems to be one issue with tone production among other issues like general weakness in playing with fingers in articulating. I would like a balanced smooth tone like I hear in so many performances, and I wonder is it possible without nails if the technique is proper? Among other things, any of the forum wisdom as to what to fix or if I'm on the right track I'd greatly appreciate. Thanks

Youtube

dtoh

Re: Self taught - seeking feedback

Post by dtoh » Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:45 pm

Self taught here as well so take what I say with a grain of salt. Others who actually teach can probably provide better advice. A few thoughts.

1. Nicely played.
2. You really need nails if you want good tone and tone control. (Look at getting soft gel treatments...it makes nail management super easy.)
3. Seems like you might want to articulate the RH a little more from the big joints.
4. The LH looks a little electric guitar-ish sometimes. (Fingers at a angle rather than perpendicular to the fretboard and thumb creeping over the top.)

georgemarousi

Post by georgemarousi » Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:43 pm

hi !
Nice try! I agree with the previous comments.

As an advanced student, i mainly notice:

- need to bring the guitar upper, for the left hand fingers to be able to approach vertically the fretboard, while the left thumb will always be behind it.