Can you teach yourself?

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
JohannesBrahms

Can you teach yourself?

Post by JohannesBrahms » Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:57 pm

I have experience on both the electric and acoustic guitar in various styles of music and am mostly self-taught. I've had classical piano lessons in the past and I love classical music. Recently, I've become greatly interested in classical guitar. Do you think I could teach myself to play classical guitar? I mainly want to play for my own enjoyment. I can read music and already can play finger style guitar, although I understand that the classical style is different. What are some challenges you believe I will experience.

Another question I have is whether you believe it is acceptable for classical music to be played on an acoustic steel-string guitar? I don't really have the money or desire to buy a nylon-string, and I like the steel-string sound. I understand that this goes against the grain in classical guitar performance.

Thank you for any thoughts, advice, etc.!

George Crocket

Re: Can you teach yourself?

Post by George Crocket » Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:40 pm

Hi JohannesBrahms. Welcome to the forum. Could you please introduce yourself here.
George
2010 Stephen Eden spruce/cocobolo classical guitar
2012 Stephen Eden cedar/IRW classical guitar

Rasputin

Post by Rasputin » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:09 pm