Rest Strokes on Lute

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Dylan

Rest Strokes on Lute

Post by Dylan » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:20 pm

I am a guitarist looking to play some Dowland lute pieces and was wondering if lute players used rest strokes or not. Does anyone know if they did or not?

Thanks

Michael.N.

Re: Rest Strokes on Lute

Post by Michael.N. » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:50 pm

I can't really call myself a lute player as such. I've dabbled a tiny amount. They tend to pluck the string away from the soundboard, virtually the opposite of a modern guitarist pushing the string into the soundboard. As such I don't think they do use the rest stroke, with the exception of the thumb. You need more of an expert opinion than what I can offer though!
Historicalguitars.

pogmoor

Re: Rest Strokes on Lute

Post by pogmoor » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:00 pm

I think you may be asking two separate questions:
1) Did lute players in historical times use rest stroke.
2) Is it appropriate to use rest strokes when playing Dowland on the guitar.

In both cases the answer is debatable: