Help, too many overtones!

Classical Guitar technique: studies, scales, arpeggios, theory
Forum rules
IV Laws governing the quotation/citation of music

For discussion of studies, scales, arpeggios and theory.
Stefan Prechtl
Student of the online lessons

Help, too many overtones!

Post by Stefan Prechtl » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:56 pm

Hello!

I am currently studying on the first pieces of the D01 lessons and I am asking your help with the following problem. I am getting too many disturbing overtones from strings which I didn't even touch to make them vibrate. I can't here any on the reference recordings from maestro Delcamp. So my question is, can this be because of technical reasons? Am I executing the rest stroke in a wrong way?

Or can it relate to the different instruments used? I am playing on a steelstring western guitar, not a classical nylon string instrument.

I am aware that this may be difficult to answer just from description, without hearing or seeing. I still do not have my recording equipment ready and I plan to deliver examples as soon as I can. But maybe you can tell already from what I describe what could be the reason?

Many thanks for you help!
Stefan

Rasputin

Re: Help, too many overtones!

Post by Rasputin » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:41 pm

This is normal and is due to sympathetic resonance between the strings. If you play a note that corresponds to a harmonic on another string then you will set that harmonic off. Try playing open high E and then stopping it - you will find that its ghost rings on. What you are hearing is the harmonic at the 5th fret of the low E. To stop it you damp the low E in whatever way is most convenient - could be LH, could be RH. Similarly, if you play open D using free stroke then stop it you will hear a ghostly concert A. That one shouldn't happen with rest stroke though, for reasons which should now be clear.

eyedoc

Post by eyedoc » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:48 pm