Back pain, and guitar position with an Ergoplay

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
kirkmc

Back pain, and guitar position with an Ergoplay

Post by kirkmc » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:58 pm

I've just started playing classical guitar, though I've been playing steel string guitar off and on for the past 40 years. One problem I have with most musical instruments is back pain; I have a slight scoliosis, so twisting my spine tends to be painful.

I bought an Ergoplay, because the foot-on-stool position is definitely not conducive to a pain-free life. I got it today, and stuck it on my guitar, and it's quite interesting. What's more interesting, however, is using it to place the guitar on my right thigh rather than my left (I'm right handed). In this position, my back twists less, and my left hand is perfectly perpendicular to the next. My right arm is a bit high, but that hand too is in a good position compared to the strings.

Is there anything objectively wrong in playing the guitar in this position?

An aside: I'd love to have an upright guitar, like Paul Galbraith uses. That makes so much sense. I've played viola da gamba in the past, and that position is very comfortable.
Newbie with a cheap guitar. 40 years off and on playing steel string, I've recently started trying to play classical guitar.

pima1234

Re: Back pain, and guitar position with an Ergoplay

Post by pima1234 » Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:11 pm

I would love to be able to play in the Galbraith position.

I've been using the Aria (Murata) GR2 support for over 20 years. It is my back saver. Along with The Original Guitar Chair, I have a fairly ergonomic solution.
What can this strange device be?
When I touch it, it gives forth a sound
It's got wires that vibrate and give music
What can this thing be that I found?

AndreiKrylov

Post by AndreiKrylov » Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:58 pm