Barre and my thumb...

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
rinneby

Barre and my thumb...

Post by rinneby » Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:09 pm

Long story short. I've played the guitar for 25 years, rock, blues, pop. I'm self taught in classic, played a few years now. I can handle pieces like Bourree, Air On The G String, Adelita, Cavatina, Un Dia de Noviembre and so on pretty good by now. However chord heavy songs like Cavatina and Pathétique 2nd Movement reveals my lacking left hand technique, in the sense that my thumb gets sore after a while. I'm working on using my thumb less to push and instead use my left arm to "pull the chords" towards me and its works pretty well. Still, my thumb gets bent. Is this a problem I should work on? My thumb is "flexible" så to speak, see pics:

My thumb looks like this, its pretty bent by default:

This is what my thumb looks like when I barre:

This is what my thumb looks like when I (try to) hold it straight:

Advice?

All the best from Sweden

/Jon
1965 - Masaru Kono No.5
1973 - Ryoji Matsuoka No.80
1976 - Kazuo Yairi YC-250
2007 - Lorenzo Frignani

You are the instrument, not the guitar

John higgon
Amateur luthier

Re: Barre and my thumb...

Post by John higgon » Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:42 pm