What are your pants made of?

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
dechico

What are your pants made of?

Post by dechico » Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:05 am

I have been learning classical guitar for about a year and a half. Before I started playing daily, I had a thought that the best fabric for pants (to be non-slip) would be a heavy cloth, like denim or other cotton pants. It turns out that my old jeans are very soft and worn and my guitar can't get a grip.

I know there are many lap devices for holding the guitar, and not slipping, but for just regular practice, do you have a favorite pair of pants you wear due to the type of fabric? What would be a cloth that wouldn't slip, with good friction to hold the guitar in place? Do you have pants that you wear in performances because they hold the guitar well?

I searched the site for "pants" and didn't find anything. Should I just wear my jeans and not worry about it?

simonm
Amateur luthier

Re: What are your pants made of?

Post by simonm » Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:59 am

My guitar teacher (in Germany) tells me that when he was doing concerts he always wore leather pants. In class he always insists on students putting a chamois leather on the thigh to stop the guitar slipping.

GuitarVlog

Post by GuitarVlog » Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:00 am

Buy a roll of thick non-slip liner (black or your color of choice). These can usually be found in the kitchen section of most large retailers or hardware stores. Cut a small sheet to place at the main contact point of the guitar and your garment. This works well if you're using a guitar support too.

One roll should last you several years ... or your lifetime ... depending on how large a sheet you need.

EDIT and DISCLAIMER: All of my guitars have poly finishes. I don't know how this liner material might react to other finishes.

LVR

Post by LVR » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:58 am