Ergonomic playing with Yamaha silent guitar

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
snowkiter

Ergonomic playing with Yamaha silent guitar

Post by snowkiter » Tue Oct 04, 2011 2:58 pm

Hello!
I just recently bought a Yamaha silent guitar (slg130nw) and I'm wondering what kind of guitar support would work with this. My teacher has adviced me not to use foot rests, as they are not ergonomic. However, my suction cup rest does not attach to the narrow frame of the guitar. Any suggestions?

Vlad Kosulin

Re: Ergonomic playing with Yamaha silent guitar

Post by Vlad Kosulin » Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:54 pm

You can put thick blanket roll under guitar (I started playing this way), or buy Dynarette (I use it now for regular CG).
Regards,
Vlad
(still testing various strings with 2006 Sebastian Stenzel and Olinda OC-300)

snowkiter

Post by snowkiter » Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:00 pm

Thank you. I'll have to try those :). The Dynarette looks very good. I'm going to order one if the blanket is inadequate.

MurrayK

Post by MurrayK » Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:12 am

Hi Snowkiter, in 2008 I posted this mod I did to an SLG100N, fitting an Efel rest.viewtopic.php?f=1&t=25586

I still use it all the time and find it better than using a foot stool. It was not at all a difficult project and, if you place some felt between the mod and the frame, you will not mark or damage the frame at all, (should you wish to replace the original horn)

Hope you are enjoying your new Yamaha SLG. :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards
Murray

jaradgiese

Post by jaradgiese » Mon Nov 07, 2011 4:32 pm