First thing to learn as a guitarist

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
MDevon

First thing to learn as a guitarist

Postby MDevon » Tue Sep 10, 2013 2:24 am

If I wanted to become a classical guitar teacher, what would be the first thing (or few things) to show my students? After of course, showing them of to hold the guitar and sit properly. I ask this because I know there is more than a few experienced teachers on this forum and I wanted to see what their opinion is on what helped there students the most. And also kept the student motivated and excited for the next lesson.
Love to hear your thoughts.
Devon

tbon

Re: First thing to learn as a guitarist

Postby tbon » Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:02 am

1. Take it slow.
2. Don't memorize, read from the score.
3. Don't watch the left hand.

Disclaimer: I am a student, not a teacher.

Jim Thompson

Postby Jim Thompson » Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:15 am

Devon, assuming you are talking about beginning students, I'd recommend basic first position chords from early Mel Bay or similar. They're easy to learn, satisfying and can be a confidence builder. It may not be very 'classical', but all those chord patterns show up over and over in the etudes.

Luis_Br

Postby Luis_Br » Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:17 pm

Choose a good guitar method and follow it. A good method was already well thought by the writter, normally an experienced teacher. Start with first exercises and go on, probably will start playing open strings with RH alone.

Bill B

Postby Bill B » Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:35 pm

tbon wrote:1. Take it slow.

I teach, and I find myself at some point every week teaching the opposite of each of these. Interesting.
2013 Angel Benito Aguado
2005 Ramirez R-2

MDevon

Postby MDevon » Fri Sep 13, 2013 10:46 pm

Bill B wrote:

I teach, and I find myself at some point every week teaching the opposite of each of these. Interesting.