Upper-Trapezius Pain

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
pilgrim

Upper-Trapezius Pain

Post by pilgrim » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:29 am

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the "classical position" and have been searching this sub-forum for any threads relating to strain on the shoulders and the upper-trap muscles (predominantly on the right) taken in the perspective of a right-handed player. Any accounts or perspectives on this as a problem area as well as some insight to solutions would be most appreciated :)

lagartija

Re: Upper-Trapezius Pain

Post by lagartija » Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:05 am

Do you have a teacher? They could look at your playing position and tell you if you are misaligned as you play.
Or, you could look at yourself in a mirror as you play. You might find you are lifting your right shoulder to move your arm/hand or holding your shoulder up as you play.
Or, you could post a picture or video of yourself as you play so people here can see what the problem might be.
When the sun shines, bask.
__/^^^^^o>
Classical Guitar forever!

pilgrim

Post by pilgrim » Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:22 pm

Unfortunately, no teacher at present. I considered posting a video for that very reason. I'll post one at some point soon. Thanks!

pilgrim

Post by pilgrim » Fri Jan 30, 2015 11:08 pm

Actually, should i post my video on "works in progress"... What would be the most effective way to get feedback on my posture and general technique using a video i just took of my playing? Thanks

lagartija

Post by lagartija » Sat Jan 31, 2015 2:41 am

You could post it on youtube and give a link to it here in this thread. Just make sure you are playing something in the public domain and not a modern piece! No direct links to copyright protected material are allowed. :contrat:
The Works in progress section is really for excerpts of a piece that you are working on so people can comment on the musical issues you are having.