Pain in right arm/wrist/palm

Ergonomics and Posture for Classical Guitarists, Aches and Pains, Injuries, etc...
DuanePitre

Pain in right arm/wrist/palm

Post by DuanePitre » Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:23 pm

Hey everyone,

I've been playing classical guitar for almost three months now. I'm currently am looking for a teacher, but have been self-studying so far. I realize having a teacher would likely prevent me from having the stated problems below...

I've experimented (A LOT) with getting proper right-arm positioning. About a month into my studies my wrist would hurt from time-to-time, due to improper right-arm positioning. But for the past month or so it seems I'd come to a good positioning for my right arm and wrist (based on many videos and books). But for the past two days several parts of my right arm are experiencing some pain throughout my day (like right now at work....I work with computers...which may be lending to this problem as well).

The pain is in my forearm, what seems to be the tendons (?), a little in my wrist (which I can mildly crack sometimes), and some in my lower palm, around my thumb muscle. One thing I've noticed lately is that I may be placing most of my finger movement from my middle finger joints (though my hand position seems to be correct, as far as all I've seen and read). That said, surely my upper (?) joints are doing some of the work too....but I've heard some people say most or all movement should be from the upper (larger) joints (knuckles) Can this cause pain when playing too much like this? I do have my hand in what seems to be an acceptable position...but I thought it might be because of the joint I'm using for the movement.

And lastly, I play about 90 minutes a day. And of course all the typing at work (web programming).

Just thought someone might be able to shed some light on this form me.....like for instance ("your arm is sore because it's getting used to be worked out so much).

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

Duane