Ping Pong nails

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
craigh

Ping Pong nails

Post by craigh » Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:54 am

Anyone use ping pong balls for their nails ? Not just for a breakage but full time ?
I used them for years when I was a student eons ago and they worked fine ( from what I remember ) , but it seems like in the last few months that I have been using them full time , they seem to deteriorate fairly quickly .
I use high quality balls but it seems like once I get them filed the way I like them , within an hour I need to file edges again .
Driving me crazy since over time with all this filing , they just keep getting shorter .
Anyone else have problems or praises for using these ? I know my old teacher uses them still to this day full time ...

guit-box

Re: Ping Pong nails

Post by guit-box » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:10 am

Kevin Gallagher used to use them on all 4 nails I believe back when he won the GFA but I don't think he does anymore. Russell uses it under his a nail now. I personally prefer to go to a salon and have acrylics installed so there is no plastic tip used, but instead they use a nail form to extend the acrylic past my natural nail. The acrylic is way stronger than any ping pong ball or nail tips, but it is a bit thicker.
An eyewitness will often only see what he already believes to be true.

craigh

Post by craigh » Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:17 am

I'm curious about the acrylics . Do you have a set length you have them set to ? I've toyed with the idea but I was concerned about filing them , tone , etc ...

Cloth Ears

Post by Cloth Ears » Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:25 am

Since nails grow as scales, a hard acrylic can cause them to rumple underneath as they grow. You can ruin your natural nail with acrylic. Furthermore the nail technician will want to file the top of your nails thinner to help the acrylic stick. Stay away is my advice.