Getting used to longer nails

Nail care, nail problems, and the use of nails in playing the classical guitar.
Captonius

Getting used to longer nails

Post by Captonius » Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:37 am

Hi all. :D
Happy 2017 to everyone.

I'm having a little difficulty getting used to longer nails for playing. I grow them out but eventually cut my nails as it begins to feel so strange. I am an older beginner and have only been playing since 2015 (with a 7 month break in 2016).

How did you all get used to longer nails? How can I strengthen them?

TIA
Captonius

jpryan

Re: Getting used to longer nails

Post by jpryan » Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:26 pm

How long are you trying to grow them? The longer mine get the more likely they are to break, chip, split, etc., so I keep them as short as I can get away with. Typically they're not longer than half a millimeter over the fingertips when viewed from the palm side. The thumb nail gets a little longer.
Keep them moisturized (with oil and/or lotion).
--John

Erik Zurcher

Post by Erik Zurcher » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:50 pm

My advice: never cut your nails. Use a file, then micromesh 2400, 4000 and finally 12000 for polishing.
Reedition Domingo Esteso by Conde Hermanos 2004; Kenny Hill, model Barcelona 2001
"While you try to master classical guitar, prepare for a slave's life: the guitar will forever be your master and you its slave".

Captonius

Post by Captonius » Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:26 am

jpryan wrote:How long are you trying to grow them? The longer mine get the more likely they are to break, chip, split, etc., so I keep them as short as I can get away with. Typically they're not longer than half a millimeter over the fingertips when viewed from the palm side. The thumb nail gets a little longer.
Keep them moisturized (with oil and/or lotion).
Hi there,