Bach, J. S. - BWV 1007 Prelude

Audio and video recordings of the works of Johann Sebastian Bach.
Forum rules
III Our MP3, OGG, WMV, MOV, Authors' rights

Title format: Bach, J. S. - BWV xxxx Title - tags (if known)
e.g. Bach, J. S. - BWV 0997 Prélude - D09 Video (BWV number padded out with zeroes to 4 digits.)
For more details see instructions here.
File access restricted to members who have made at least 2 posts.
James Lister
Moderator & Luthier
Moderator & Luthier

Bach, J. S. - BWV 1007 Prelude

Postby James Lister » Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:22 pm

As promised, my rendition of BWV1007 - Prelude from the 1st Cello suite. After half a dozen or so more attempts I finally got a take that I was reasonably happy with this evening. I've been playing this for many years, but left it for quite a while after deciding that the guitar version could never really compete with the cello, but I like it so much - and I can't play the cello!

Same recording set-up as before - Behringer mics into a Soundcraft mixer onto Audacity on my laptop. Some reverb added courtesy of Gverb on Audacity.

Hope you enjoy it - all comments welcome.

James
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
James Lister, luthier, Sheffield UK

ashworth

Re: Bach, J. S. - BWV 1007 Prelude

Postby ashworth » Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:28 am

Very nice! Most enjoyable to hear. This is one of my favorite pieces as well. I don't think I've heard this particular version before; some of the bass notes are different from the versions I have.
- Donnie

Erik Zurcher

Postby Erik Zurcher » Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:47 am

Lovely, James, but I find the bass tones too dominant. :merci: :bravo: :bye:
Reedition Domingo Esteso by Conde Hermanos 2004; Kenny Hill, model Barcelona 2001
"While you try to master classical guitar, prepare for a slave's life: the guitar will forever be your master and you its slave".

Paul Janssen

Postby Paul Janssen » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:00 am