Neck dive / balance & tension

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
KBell

Neck dive / balance & tension

Post by KBell » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:03 pm

A question... I’ve been playing on the same guitar for about 20 years and it has a lot of neck dive - I don’t have anything to compare it to but i assume some degree of neck dive is appropriate and acceptable and typically resolved / mitigated by the classical position (angled neck)

Even in this playing position (I use a foot stool) my guitar falls head first and requires active engagement from my right arm or left hand to provide stability / balance.

My questions:

Is neck dive common and does anyone experience an accumulation of tension when playing based on this?

Thanks for any and all replies - and happy new year

K.

BugDog

Re: Neck dive / balance & tension

Post by BugDog » Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:31 pm

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what neck dive is.

Normally, when held in standard CG position with a foot stool, the guitar can be held in the lap without use of the hands. I counterbalance fretting pressure with the right arm a lot. It's not the guitar neck that I have to hold up, its my left arm. Sometimes I'll "hang" my LH from the neck.
BugDog
There's one in every crowd.

lagartija

Post by lagartija » Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:10 am

In the classical position, held between the legs with the neck angled up, the guitar is neutral as BugDog says. It remains in place and both hands are free to move without having to support the guitar.
I assume you are playing a classical guitar (12 frets free of the body) and not a steel string guitar or relative (with 14 frets free of the body). If it is a classical, it could just have very massive tuners and an unbalanced headstock. That would be unfortunate, since playing an instrument like that leads to the tension problems you are having, not to mention impeding your right arm mobility. :-(
You could try using a strap to support the headstock...