Unwanted tone at the saddle area

Discussions relating to the classical guitar which don't fit elsewhere.
Don W

Unwanted tone at the saddle area

Post by Don W » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:01 am

I have a Yamaha CG142. I am new to classical guitar and this is my first new topic post. I like this guitar very much but recently have been hearing a "secondary" tone coming from the saddle area when I am playing on the D and A strings. This is not a string height buzz but is a secondary tone or "echo" of the note I am playing coming from the saddle area. I have tried normal tension and hard tension strings and have been careful to apply strings correctly and have had the strings changed and string height checked by an experienced guitarist. The sound persists. Has anyone experienced this...any suggestions...its annoying as it makes the note sound slightly out of tune when I play.

DerekB

Re: Unwanted tone at the saddle area

Post by DerekB » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:14 am

Are the ends of the strings touching the top of the guitar? If so, simply trim them with a pair of nail-clippers.
I've suffered for my music. Now it's your turn... - Seasick Steve

Ana Espinosa 2014 Swiss spruce/IRW
Yulong Guo 2009 640mm scale cedar/IRW

Don W

Don W

Post by Don W » Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:00 pm

No...the strings are trimmed and not touching the guitar.

pasigenyo

Post by pasigenyo » Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:15 pm

Sounds like a similar phenomenon with my guitar. It's like the string has a "chorus" effect and seems to come from the bridge area. Check if your saddle is too thin for the slot and if it rocks back and forth when you move it (with the strings loosened, of course). I have not been able to eliminate that effect, but I've reduced it drastically by replacing the saddle with one that doesn't wiggle. Hope this helps.

Don W

Don W

Post by Don W » Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:56 pm