The sound of Ramirez 1A for the price of 4NE?

safesphere

The sound of Ramirez 1A for the price of 4NE?

Post by safesphere » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:41 pm

I am looking for a guitar with a nice sound like Ramirez 1A, but my budget is at the level of Ramirez 4NE ($2,500 - $3,000 US). I would appreciate any insight on the best ways to go.

1. I like the sound of Ramirez 1A (a.k.a. Traditional), I think it's mesmerizing. What are my options for under $3,000 to get as close to its sound as possible? (It does not have to be Ramirez.) I understand I could get a used 1A in a "good" condition for around this much, but I've no experience of buying a used guitar. There's nothing here local in Kansas City and paying thousands online without inspection seems scary.

2. Who actually makes the 4NE? I understand, this model is outsourced to some factory where this guitar may (or may not) be hand made by the factory luthier(s). Does anyone know which factory or if there is a name of the actual luthier on the label or any other details on this model?

simonm

Re: The sound of Ramirez 1A for the price of 4NE?

Post by simonm » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:52 pm

I can't be of any direct help as I don't have experience of Ramirez guitars and I am not in the US. (although I have heard about the stuffed horse in Lawrence :-))

As you noted the best bang for buck is used. One option would be to contact a reputable dealer and see what they have to offer. The best dealers are interested in keeping you happy so that you will come back to them again so if you have to buy sight unseen that is a good way to go. You could also watch the ads here over a period of time and see what might turn up. Usually the prices tend to be pretty good.

Laudiesdad69

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:22 am