Need help on buying an inexpensive cedar top. cordoba? kremona? manuel rodriguez?

Orcas_

Need help on buying an inexpensive cedar top. cordoba? kremona? manuel rodriguez?

Post by Orcas_ » Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:20 am

I'm a student and also play classical and mostly flamenco in restaurants quite a bit. My flamenco guitar is very nice although I feel that I should really look into something that is a bit more suited for classical repertoire, as well as something I can take to school with my that I wont have to worry about damaging too much, although I still do intent to take as much care of it as I can.

This past semester I've used a Cordoba c3m which I bought used at guitar center for a little over 100 bucks and honestly, for the price the tone of this guitar actually impressed me a bit. I do find it a little less comfortable to play though as the action near the nut is just a tad higher than what I'm used to. I intend to eventually spend a grand or so on a much nicer cedar top once I do more research but for now I just want to upgrade my c3m.

I went to GC today and tried out a cordoba C5 (I have somebody offering my one for 200 used) and the Kremona Soloist s65c for 399 (371 after tax with coupon) and I have to admit, I liked the Kremona a bit more than the Cordoba, although given that I'd pay 171 more I don't know if the difference was that significant.

On the other hand, somebody else offered to sell me a Manuel Rodriguez c1 guitar for 200 and although I haven't tried it out just yet I've heard from people that it's a good guitar.

Now, ultimately I'll probably decide on my own after playing each one and trusting my ear on it, however if anyone has any experiences at all or any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated.

My current options are a Cordoba C5 ($200 used) a Manuel Rodriguez C1 ($200 used) or a Kremona Soloist S65C ($371 new)

George Crocket

Re: Need help on buying an inexpesive cedar top. cordoba? kremona? manuel rodriguez?