Asturias or Cervantes?

JGraff

Asturias or Cervantes?

Post by JGraff » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:57 pm

Soooo I'm in a dilema. Right now i'm on a Asturias AST 60. School Instrument. Needless to say the thing has spoiled me. The Warmth of the Basses, the clarity of the trebles. The sustain on the Bass A is 32 seconds. 16-20 before it becomes inaudable. It's quite the instrument. So much so it's turned me into a snob.

Long story short, i'm in a dilema between buying a higher quality Asturias, or going for a Cervantes Milenia. Which the Cervantes has the Elevated Fretboard and Lattuce, both things I feel are desirable.

The solution would be as simple as just going down to the music store and testing them out. But our Music centers are garbage in terms of Classical Guitar. Low End Cordoba and Low End Jose Ramirez. Both less than a 1/4th of what i'm playing now.

The Elevated Fretboard is a huge plus, tis why i'm entertaining a Brand i have no experience with. I could deal with slightly less Guitar over it. But if the other end meant more Guitar. The choice should be obvious.

rinneby

Re: Asturias or Cervantes?

Post by rinneby » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:13 pm

Asturias are great. However, I've only played the once from the 70s and 80s. Heard some great thing about Cervantes too. But I can't help to wonder: Why do you focus on just these two particular brands?

What is that you hope to gain with a new guitar? The AST-60 seems like a very fine instrument and you might have to put in considerable more, than a new Asturias/Cervantes, to really gain anything. But then again, impossible to say without trying.

/Jon
1962 - Rokutaro Nakade
1992 - Manuel Bellido
2007 - Curt Claus Voigt
2017 - Tobias Braun

Feel free to ask me anything about Japanese classical guitars.

Philosopherguy

Post by Philosopherguy » Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:48 pm

I think it depends on the sound you want. The Asturias is likely to have a more traditional sound, the lattice will likely have a more modern sound.