elevated finger board

McGee

elevated finger board

Post by McGee » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:23 pm

Hello-I've played steel string guitar for awhile but I'm somewhat new to nylon/classical.
Until I can purchase my own guitar, my teacher has loaned me a Hauser style, very early
Steve Connor build. My teacher plays a Humphrey with a raised finger board which he loves
and wants me to consider the raised finger board as an option. I have tried his guitar but
I'm too early into this to appreciate the perceived nuances of the raised finger board. For
those of you who have played for awhile, do you find the raised finger board to be a practical
necessity? I'm taking my time but in the future I expect to spend 2000+, maybe more, maybe
less on a guitar. I notice for this money, the raised finger board is being offered as an option-
example Kenny Hill.

prawnheed

Re: elevated finger board

Post by prawnheed » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:19 pm

Personally, I find it a nuisance rather than a necessity. If you want better upper fret access then a cutaway is much more practical.

johnd

Post by johnd » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:45 pm

I have watched many videos of accomplished classical guitar players and seldom do any of them play above the 12th fret and if they do it is for a very short time. Unless you plan to become a concert guitarist (and if you are not older than 12 years old) I would not turn down a guitar I really liked based on having or not having a raised finger board.

The experts can correct me but did Segovia play with a raised finger board????

Beowulf

Post by Beowulf » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:02 pm