Thoughts on a Yamaha GC22S

billchivers

Thoughts on a Yamaha GC22S

Post by billchivers » Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:56 pm

Hello All,

I bought a Yamaha GC22S one week ago and thought I would make some observations at this early stage. My other guitars include a Larrivee OM03R and a 45-year old Yamaha CG60S all-laminated classical. I have been playing the CG60S, learning classical guitar, for about a year. I started lessons 5 months ago and I am just starting to learn "Lagrima".

I was in the market for a classical in this price range and I played guitars made by Katoh (I think this is Martinez in the USA), Manuel Rodriguez, Esteve, Cordoba (C9), Alhambra (4P and 7P, the latter 1.5 times my budget) and Yamaha. Every guitarist is different, of course, but for me the GC22S stood out clearly in terms of both its playability and tone. Interestingly I played a Yamaha GC12C which did not seem to be as butter-smooth to play. I also played a Yamaha CG192S which just did not have the tone of the GC22S, especially in the bass. I am being picky here, all the guitars I played were beautiful objects but having said that the GC22S was, for me, clearly outstanding.

The GC22S is easy on my injured fretting hand and the tone is just beautiful, highs, lows and mid-range. It is very balanced. In trying to describe the bass in comparison with the CG192S the word "choclatey" came to mind, it is just such a pure and rich tone.

It is not perfect, there are a couple of very minor finish blemishes. The back of the neck has a couple of very small rough areas - I can feel them but I cannot see them. I don't feel them when playing the guitar due to their position. Also, I can feel the join in the two top pieces of spruce near the bridge. It does not quite have the refined finishing of the Larrivee, but in Australia the Larrivee is twice as expensive.