Few questions on buying a guitar under 2000 euros

MauricioMedeiros

Few questions on buying a guitar under 2000 euros

Post by MauricioMedeiros » Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:08 am

Hi all!

I am thinking for some time already on upgrading my guitar, but the more I research, the more I get overwhelmed.

I bought a few years ago from t h o m a n n a Hofner HZ23 - a really simple student model, but at that time it was a LOT better than what I had. But now I really feel I could get a lot more from a better guitar. I am just a hobbyist which needs to control my time on guitar due to previous injuries, so most of what I feel "lacking" could be just a matter of "get better at playing" - sometimes I find it really really hard to go from pp to ff for example, or the sound quality just don't keep up with what I am "listening" on my head. But still I think a better guitar would make me enjoy a lot more my time playing.

That said, boy, it is hard to choose a guitar. I see over and over ppl saying "go with your ears", but I don't think that will really work for me. I don't know of decent stores nearby, so probably will have to buy online. And to be honest all the online sound samples are more or less the same to me and my crap notebook speakers.

So I was looking at a lot of reviews, and trying to find some more consistent brands to minimize my risk. I would like to have a loud guitar with a decent tone, and which was not hard to play. I don't really get what are talking about when they say a guitar is "easy" or "hard" to play though. Is it just the action? I also would like to get a spruce guitar, but mostly because I never had one before, so it would be something different :)