grading wood .

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
Joe Holden

grading wood .

Post by Joe Holden » Sat Mar 19, 2016 9:57 am

Hello everyone . I'm a newbie to building although I have a few going on and in various stages of a build . I've seen were one guy has built a guitar out of wood from a home depot and the next guy comments on it being of a top grade wood . I've been coming across this topic more and more and would like to learn what is meant by that and in what why it applies . Also the lingo , the terminology etc and what to look for in usable to master grade wood . also how the different types of wood react to each other . i.e. when I took my luthier course the common purfling wood was bass wood but I see others use other woods ... whats your guys thoughts ? Cheers all , Joe

simonm

Re: grading wood .

Post by simonm » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:32 am

Lots of discussions about wood if you do a search here. Check out threads where Alan Carruth has posts about the physical characteristics of wood. In general you are paying for appearance/rarity when you buy very expensive wood. As long as you are asking this question then buy your timber from a tone wood supplier. Tonewood is specialized -leave it to the experts. Don't use "master grade" wood until you have at least 10 completed instruments under your belt unless you are in the enviable position of not needing to know the price of anything before you buy it.

edit - typos (and spell check "help") corrected.
Last edited by simonm on Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Joe Holden

Post by Joe Holden » Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:11 pm