A problem in my guitar

Construction and repair of Classical Guitar and related instruments
oyuncuumut

A problem in my guitar

Post by oyuncuumut » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:52 am

When I started playing I had a old guitar waiting for probably years. Now I use a lend guitar but I cant take it to my house and my guitar at my house it kinda bad so I cant play at home. Problem is this it gets out of tune quickly and after some time you need to tighten the strings so much 1. fret becomes very hard to play compared to other strings I recently changed strings but it is still the same do you know why this might happen?

OldPotter

Re: A problem in my guitar

Post by OldPotter » Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:35 am

Its very hard to be certain without seeing the guitar, but it sounds as if there are at least two problems.

If the strings keep going out of tune, nylon strings do stretch more than steel and do need tuning more when first installed.
Perhaps the knot at the bridge or the roller is loose.
Perhaps the neck is unstable and not straight and bends as you tighten the strings.

If the 1st fret is hard to play then it usually means that the slots in the nut (bone at the top) are too high. Its possible to check the height using this idea; viewtopic.php?f=11&t=64845#topic4 . Look at the section marked "Action".
"When I was younger, I could remember almost everything, whether it happened or not." Mark Twain

joachim33

Post by joachim33 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:02 am

Which strings do you use? How do you tune the instrument? Which reference pitch are you using (e.g. 440 Hz)?

How long since you put the new strings on? If you say, they go out of tune quickly, what is quickly (e.g. 5 min, 15 min, 1 hour)? Are they secured properly or are they slipping (roller and/or bridge)?

oyuncuumut

Post by oyuncuumut » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:28 pm