Lute making Schools

Discussion of all aspects of early instruments, lutes, theorbos, vihuelas, Renaissance guitars and Baroque guitars.
Nephthysalis

Lute making Schools

Post by Nephthysalis » Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:20 pm

Hello everyone,

Does anyone know of any Lute making schools in Europe / UK that take complete beginners?

I know that there is (was?) a summer school that David Van Edwards did to create hire Lutes for the UK Lute Society but I am unsure if he still does that.

I had a look around google but couldn't find anything concrete, but I am sure that they must exist!

Cheers!

OldPotter

Re: Lute making Schools

Post by OldPotter » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:07 pm

I ordered the course that David van Edwards supplies, its a CD with lessons and printed plans. You would need a fair amount of woodworking experience or at least be willing to give working with tools a go. Its also possible that he is still doing a summer course, you would have to contact him directly. I'm not sure if evening classes are still available in Jersey, but a wood working class would be a good start.

The Early Music Shop supplies all sorts of kits and complete instruments that can be relatively cheap. I am told that the previous version of the kits were overbuilt, I haven't seen one. These newer ones are a bit more expensive and they say that these are better. I haven't seen any feed back at all so far, even if I saw one I'm not sure that I would know how to rate them. They also list some more expensive lutes.