GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Creating a home studio for recording the classical guitar. Equipment, software and recording techniques. Amplification for live performance.
User avatar
Jedaks
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:22 am
Location: Australia

GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by Jedaks » Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:59 am

Hello all,
A mate and I would like to do some simultaneous multitrack recording. Since we both have Apple devices it seems that GarageBand would be the DAW to use (at least to begin with).

My question is, will GarageBand automatically sense the number of inputs in the audio interface and generate the tracks, or can it be done manually?

Or, am I kidding myself and GarageBand cannot record simultaneous multi-tracks?

My wife has claimed my MacBook so we would be using iPad iOS mostly.

Thanks
"He gave it for his opinion, that whoever could make two ears of corn, or two blades of grass, to grow upon a spot of ground where only one grew before, would deserve better of mankind"... J.Swift

User avatar
Stephen Kenyon
Teacher
Posts: 2649
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:26 am
Location: Dorchester, Dorset, England

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:06 am

Garageband will do you fine, the digital recording will easily as good as you could require.
As I have Logic I don't use Garageband very often, but when I have it has been very easy to set up the number of tracks required. I'd suggest watching a few tutorial videos.
Simon Ambridge Series 40 (2005)
Trevor Semple Series 88 (1992)
Louis Panormo (1838)
Alexander Batov Baroque Guitar (2013)
Simon Ambridge 'Hauser' (2018)

User avatar
sxedio
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: UK / Cyprus

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by sxedio » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:36 pm

I seem to remember that it can handle up to 8 simultaneous tracks. What is your approach? Sit together in a room and play duets and record with more than 2 microphones? Wouldn't you get a more natural sound with stereo recording? Or are you recording your part and then sending to your friend to overdub, in which case again you only need stereo recording.
(Gr) (En) (very little Fr)

BellyDoc
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:52 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by BellyDoc » Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:11 pm

I use GarageBand with a Scarlett 2i2 interface. I can run two analog mikes into 2 tracks at the same time. If I recall correctly, before I got the interface, I could not run a USB mike plus the onboard or separate USB webcam mike as separate inputs into different simultaneous tracks, but I could combine them into one input if I wanted to. I experimented with that but it didn't make cheap mikes sound not-cheap, so I upgraded.
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." -Sir Isaac Newton

Armin Hanika 56PF

User avatar
Paul Janssen
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:05 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by Paul Janssen » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:28 am

Depending on your interface, the current version of Garageband for iOS lets you record up to 32 tracks simultaneously.

I think Garage Band is actually a good DAW that lets you get results quickly. It can't be beat for the "price".

User avatar
Jedaks
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:22 am
Location: Australia

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by Jedaks » Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:26 pm

Thanks for the replies, it has helped a lot.

As well as classical music, we also play mainstream stuff. I wanted a way to simultaneously record two amplifiers and two vocal microphones but I just didn't know if GarageBand was capable of that. Now I know. Cheers
"He gave it for his opinion, that whoever could make two ears of corn, or two blades of grass, to grow upon a spot of ground where only one grew before, would deserve better of mankind"... J.Swift

ronjazz
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:10 pm

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by ronjazz » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:44 pm

Jedaks wrote:
Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:26 pm
Thanks for the replies, it has helped a lot.

As well as classical music, we also play mainstream stuff. I wanted a way to simultaneously record two amplifiers and two vocal microphones but I just didn't know if GarageBand was capable of that. Now I know. Cheers
Just keep in mind that you are limited in how many tracks you can recorded SIMULTANEOUSLY by the input device. Overdubbing gives you access to every track your program can create, but if you want to record 8 tracks at the same time, you need in input device with 8 inputs. A workaround if you only have a stereo input device like an M-Audio M-Track or an ART USB Dual Tube Pre is to use a mixer and run left/right into the two channels. This, of course, messes up the ability to fix a single track in post-production.
Lester Devoe Flamenco Negra
Lester Devoe Flamenco Blanca
Aparicio Flamenco Blanca with RMC pickup
Bartolex 7-string with RMC pickup
Giannini 7-string with Shadow pickup
Sal Pace 7-string archtop

User avatar
fast eddie
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 4:39 am
Location: Columbus, MS USA

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by fast eddie » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:17 am

I am new at this and do not know how to interface my dynamic microphone ( SM 58) with my mac book Pro laptop (running Finder 10.13). I also have a Fender Acoustasonic 15 amp. I would like to do some home recording. I am trying to figure out how to input the microphone to the laptop and use Garage Band (10.3.1). Any help is appreciated.
Fast Eddie
Cordoba C 10 Spruce
Cordoba C 10 Cedar
1974 Hernandis

User avatar
sxedio
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: UK / Cyprus

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by sxedio » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:21 am

fast eddie wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:17 am
I am new at this and do not know how to interface my dynamic microphone ( SM 58) with my mac book Pro laptop (running Finder 10.13). I also have a Fender Acoustasonic 15 amp. I would like to do some home recording. I am trying to figure out how to input the microphone to the laptop and use Garage Band (10.3.1). Any help is appreciated.
Use the amp as a pre amplifier for the microphone. mic -> xlr cable -> amp channel 1 input . Amp Phones out -> minijack cable -> laptop mic/line in.

Not ideal but see what you get, if it is too noisy or not loud enough you might need to buy some additional gear.
(Gr) (En) (very little Fr)

User avatar
fast eddie
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 4:39 am
Location: Columbus, MS USA

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by fast eddie » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:49 am

Thanks. Will try that tomorrow.
Tonight I did this:

Sure SM 58 mic -> macbook pro mic input (using pigtail connector) -> GarageBand -> back out from laptop -> Fender amp ch.2 input .

I used a pigtail 1/8 " (??) connectors to connect both input and output to my laptop.

Hope this makes sense. Seems to work. I will try your suggestion tomorrow.

Thanks again.
Fast Eddie
Cordoba C 10 Spruce
Cordoba C 10 Cedar
1974 Hernandis

Dirck Nagy
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 4:47 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by Dirck Nagy » Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:46 pm

fast eddie wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:49 am
Thanks. Will try that tomorrow.
Tonight I did this:

Sure SM 58 mic -> macbook pro mic input (using pigtail connector) -> GarageBand -> back out from laptop -> Fender amp ch.2 input .

I used a pigtail 1/8 " (??) connectors to connect both input and output to my laptop.

Hope this makes sense. Seems to work. I will try your suggestion tomorrow.

Thanks again.
for somewhat better audio quality, the next thing you might want to try an audio interface "breakout box". They arent too expensive. Most have XLR, 1/4", and USB connections, and even the cheaper ones usually supply phantom power if you have a condenser mic. I use an older one by M-Audio and it works great.

cheers!
dirck

User avatar
fast eddie
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 4:39 am
Location: Columbus, MS USA

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by fast eddie » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:40 am

Thanks dirck. I'll look into this.
Eddie
Fast Eddie
Cordoba C 10 Spruce
Cordoba C 10 Cedar
1974 Hernandis

User avatar
fast eddie
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 4:39 am
Location: Columbus, MS USA

Re: GarageBand and audio interface inputs

Post by fast eddie » Tue Jul 10, 2018 3:10 am

Drick, Just purchased a Behringer UPhoria UMC404H. I did not know anything about audio interface's. The more I read the more I began to see that this is the equipment I really needed. Thanks again.
Fast Eddie
Cordoba C 10 Spruce
Cordoba C 10 Cedar
1974 Hernandis

Return to “Classical guitar recording and amplification”