Blue Yeti or Shure MV88 for iPhone

Creating a home studio for recording the classical guitar. Equipment, software and recording techniques. Amplification for live performance.
edward_z

Blue Yeti or Shure MV88 for iPhone

Post by edward_z » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:14 am

I am a beginner level player and occasionally want to record videos. The recording device I have been using is an iPhone X. To improve audio quality, I want to add an external mic. I see many people recommend Shure MV88. The Blue Yeti is also an option, as it can be connected to ios device using an lighting-to-usb cable.

I do not care the portability since I only use it at home

The cost of these two options is about same, around $150

Which one will give better sound quality? I guess it must be Blue yeti. Anyone had experience on these mics?

Thanks,

Christopher Freitag

Re: Blue Yeti or Shure MV88 for iPhone

Post by Christopher Freitag » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 pm

I’ve got both, but I haven’t used the Blue Yeti with my iPhone. I was planning to make some recordings for upcoming posts on The Chaconne Project this weekend and I will do one side-by-side comparison.
Chris Freitag

2013 German Vasquez Rubio Concert Special "Bernardi"; German spruce/Brazilian rosewood
2014 Garrett (Gary) Lee spruce/cedar double top; Brazilian rosewood

edward_z

Post by edward_z » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:16 pm

Please update us on your comparison.
Christopher Freitag wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 pm
I’ve got both, but I haven’t used the Blue Yeti with my iPhone. I was planning to make some recordings for upcoming posts on The Chaconne Project this weekend and I will do one side-by-side comparison.

Christopher Freitag

Post by Christopher Freitag » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:11 pm