First timer!

eschutz

First timer!

Post by eschutz » Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:17 pm

Greetings from Fletcher, NC, a little town half-way between Asheville and Hendersonville, NC. My name is Eric Schutz. I've played classical guitar off and on for about 35-years. I started pretty late (age 35), was mostly self-taught, and had other much higher priorities for most of that time (college prof' with a couple of kids!). So while I've taken formal lessons and some music courses since retiring a couple years ago, I'm kind of "advanced" level but really not at all an advanced player.

I play intermediate level classical pieces at best, e.g., Bach preludes, and a hodge-podge variety of stuff picked up here and there that I haven't found too intimidating to bother with learning -- I'm a very slow reader, so memorization is critical, and it's getting harder as I get older! My repertoire consists of odds & ends of classical, ragtime, blues, pop, jazz, and Irish/Celtic. From Joplin's "Solace" to a not-so-hard version of "Georgia" to Brouwer's "Un Dia de Noviembre" to Satie's "Gymnopaedie #1", etc, etc.

I have done some busking with a buddy recently here in Asheville, NC, which must be buskers' heaven, I'd reckon. My busking buddy's an outstanding musician, I have no idea why he's willing to stoop to my level, but I'm sure grateful he's willing (it's like free lessons!). Busking is the extent of my playing for "an audience", which, if you've ever tried busking, you know it's not really an audience, as mostly people just basically walk by without paying much visible notice. I.e., I never played for a real audience at all except in my music classes just before retirement, and there I discovered I have a serious stage fright thing! Ugh! Well, I'll see how I do, one of these days, before an open mic' somewhere.