Greetings from Texas

morningstarguitar

Greetings from Texas

Post by morningstarguitar » Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:42 pm

Hello everyone! I am excited to take part in this community and to share many things together. Here are my answers to the basic questions in the FAQ section on how to write a great introduction:

1) Do you play guitar? Are you a lover of guitar music, but don't play yourself? Are you a Luthier?
I do play guitar.
2) How long have you played? What is your experience? How old (young) were you when you started? Or did you just start last week?
I have been playing 10 years beginning when I was almost 18 years old. Before that I was a very bad violin student. Guitar gave me a whole new outlook on music!
3) Do you take lessons? Or are you self-taught? Are you a teacher of Classical Guitar?
I take lessons and I give lessons. I have been learning in university for 7 years (I am working on my master's degree)
4) Did you start with another type of guitar or musical instrument, and then discover the Classical Guitar?
As stated above, I started with the violin and some piano but they never excited me like the guitar did the moment I played my first "classical" piece. Plus I like the people better!
5) What type of music are you particularly interested in? What pieces are you currently working on?
I love playing flamenco but I focus on classical guitar. Right now I am working on JS Bach's BWV 997, two Takemitsu arrangements, two of Roland Dyens' 3 Polyglottes, Fernando Sor's Grand Solo and a theme and variation of my own.
6) Do you have a large gap in your life when you stopped playing the guitar?
I had bilateral arm pain for two years during my undergrad. Needless to say, I am now a sort of expert when it comes to figuring out sources of pain and solving the problem.
7) And so on! Anything that you wish to share with us will be much appreciated.