Introduction

Movitz

Introduction

Post by Movitz » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:44 am

Hello!

Glad to be here!

My name is Martin. I live in Sweden, was born in 1958 and have been playing the guitar since I was thirteen or fourteen. At first I learnt to play chords to simple mostly folk-style tunes. Sometime in the seventies the popularity of classical guitar music was increasing, and soon I was listening to classical players like Diego Blanco, Narciso Yepes, John Williams, Julian Bream, Christoffer Parkening and - of course - Göran Söllscher.
For several years I tried to study and practice for myself, so as a classical guitarist I’m mainly self-taught, although there were later periods when I got to take private lessons. I have never become a great guitar player, but good enough that in my early twenties I made a living from giving classes to beginner guitar players.

Of course there have been periods of my life when haven’t been playing. Studies, work, children, other interests have taken over. I also played (and still play) some rock&roll. But it seems I always come back to classical…

Now, at my recent come back to the classical guitar, I focus on playing (and singing) music by the Swedish 18th century poet and composer Carl Michael Bellman https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carl_Michael_Bellman. Although composing some, Bellman to a great extent used and adapted earlier music, for instance by Johan Helmich Roman https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johan_Helmich_Roman. Original scores available in facsimile are for the piano, but there are excellent guitar transcriptions to find. (My nick of choice is the name of one of the most frequent characters in the songs and "epistles" of Bellman.)