Greetings from Northeast Arkansas!

rburns

Greetings from Northeast Arkansas!

Post by rburns » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:29 pm

I've been away for some time and just recently re-registered so that I may continue pursuing my studies in classical guitar and gain more knowledge and advice from those of you who participate regularly in this excellent forum.

My background includes a few lessons I took with Professor Tim Crist, who is a colleague of mine here at Arkansas State University where I've been teaching folklore and cultural anthropology since 1993. My guitar playing began years before arriving here, having taught myself from the Aaron Shearer books, which I still use, as well as a couple of Parkening books.

Since starting a family and since my wife plays violin and viola and my two kids (now out of college and gone) learned violin, I decided to take cello lessons so that we could play as a quartet, but since Robert has moved to Memphis and Ellen lives in LA, it's just my wife and me, although I do continue with my cello lessons. This is also somewhat inspired by my background in ethnomusicology when I earned my doctorate in folklore at UT Austin. Even then, my musical tastes were changing as my wife got me interested in mariachi music when we met each other in UT's Folklore Program.

That said, my background in classical guitar continues to motivate me to pick up a Ramirez 1a I've held onto as well as my Guild Mark V, which is very difficult to put down. Currently, I'm playing a Darren Hippner specially made guitar based on the Bouchet model he built for me in 2010.