Good day, eh from Manitoba!

Hiebster

Good day, eh from Manitoba!

Post by Hiebster » Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:59 am

Hi all! I'm Ken and I've been playing guitar for about 38 years and I've absolutely loved it for at least 37 of those years. I've got a great wife and two young kids who also love music.
My first teacher was Chet Breau, son of the great Lenny Breau just north of Winnipeg back when I was just 11 or so. Being left-handed, I walked into my first lesson and picked up a guitar the upside down way, and Chet said, "Boy, if you don't know how to play that thing yet, I'm gonna show you the RIGHT way to do it." And I'm so glad he did because being a teacher now, I can see how much that simplified everything for me. Sadly, we moved away shortly thereafter and I had to find a different teacher.
I was fortunate enough to find the only guitar instructor in the area who was also classically trained in the Royal Conservatory and so my parents signed me up. I took lessons for less than two years and then I got an electric guitar and decided to rock out for awhile, but the absolute best thing I learned was how to use my right hand.
A little while later I heard Bruce Cockburn's guitar playing and then Chet Atkins and that really turned me on to "fingerstyle" playing. I think my main influences right now (as far as guitar playing goes) would be those two guys and Mark Knopfler.
I've been teaching for the last 10 or 12 years and every year I do it a bit differently because I guess I'm still looking for the "best" way to do it. ☺ I now try to focus almost exclusively on the fingerstyle technique and although I'm not a classical player, I borrow most (if not all) of my technique from the classical school and attempt to convey that to my students.
I must confess that my main reason for being here is to help me become a better teacher. This looks like a great forum so if anyone has managed to read this all the way to the end, then I commend you on your stamina!

Cheers,