Post by romsek » Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:07 pm

I'm an older guy, retired engineer, who's been noodling around w/guitar most of my life and have decided to start from scratch formally learning classical guitar and sight reading.

I've played for around 35 yrs but almost all self taught. I've got a pretty good understanding of basic theory and at least know how to sight read. I just can't do it very fast or well. I'm a closet guitarist, at this point, just about all the bands I've played in have ultimately targeted music I didn't really enjoy playing, pop, country and the like. I can't say I really enjoy performing all that much either, to me at this point music is more of an exercise in learning and I just enjoy music more when I'm playing it rather than passively listening to it. Even when I'm butchering it. :D

I'm mostly self taught and have started pursuing the basics of classical guitar also self taught using Carcassi's book and various videos. I know I should get a teacher to at least get my posture and position correct sooner rather than later. I'm working on finding a teacher I'll be able to work with. History has shown I'm not a very good student.

For the purposes of this forum I'm interested in classical guitar. I expect the next few years will be taken up with learning a pretty standard vocabulary of pieces that all students learn. I'm currently working on going through the very beginning of Carcassi's method. What led me there started with a book on pieces for learning improving picking accuracy. I enjoyed those pieces and when seeing them performed on youtube observed that everyone played them with their right hand, not a pick. That led me to try and learn the first couple I had been working on, Carcassi Op. 60 #16, and #7, with my fingers. That went ok actually but did convince me that I needed to start at the beginning.

And here I am.

Basically I'm hoping to be able to use this forum to