Hello from Evanston, Illinois

Paul Frankel
Amateur luthier

Hello from Evanston, Illinois

Post by Paul Frankel » Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:28 pm

Hello to everyone. Just joining the forum. I'm a long time classical guitar player and a novice luthier. I studied with luthier Charles Fox in Vermont back in the 1970's, which was also the time period I studied classical guitar with Jack Cecchini in Chicago. I went to Fox because I couldn't afford to buy the guitars I wanted during my period of intense study as a player. After building a classical guitar with Fox, I came back to Chicago and made a couple of steel strings, which turned out pretty well. Then I got diverted into playing with a touring and recording band, starting an ad agency, raising a family, etc. Anyway, now I'm back at it. Have a workshop in my basement and am starting to build a classical guitar. I've decided as my re-entry into the guitar making world to build a replica of Segovia's 1937 Hauser. I have Richard Bruné's 2016 plans and the plans from Georgia Luthier Supply - which don't exactly match, but that's another story. Would love to hear from anyone else who has tried to follow these plans. I'm using a German spruce top, Indian rosewood back and sides. So far, I've joined and leveled the top and am about to set the rosette and start on the neck. I'm using my old notes from Fox's workshop along with the Courtnall book as a guide, and occasionally turning to Irving Sloane's old book as well. My question today is about the neck; my plan is to split the mahogany, turn it and rejoin it. I'm a little concerned about reinforcement. I have two carbon fiber rods as well as a strip of rock maple. My thought was to put the maple in the center of the mahogany joint and place the carbon rods on either side of the neck. Is this overkill?

oski79

Re: Hello from Evanston, Illinois

Post by oski79 » Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:45 pm

Welcome to Delcamp!