Greetings from Kansas City

John Jay

Greetings from Kansas City

Post by John Jay » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:13 pm

Hello Delcampers,

I am returning to playing the guitar after (most recently) a layoff of 6 years. I first began playing over 40 years ago, when I was 14. I studied privately with a local college professor for three years, but played less and less as first school, then work and family demanded increasing amounts of my time. I returned to playing in 1999 but developed a hand issue in 2003 that ultimately was diagnosed as Focal Dystonia (only because the doctors didn't know what else to call it, I think). It was completely painless, but caused my right hand fingers, especially my "i" finger, to "freeze" after contraction. I made a comeback attempt in 2009, but the issue resurfaced a few years later.

My self-diagnosis is that I was pushing myself too hard, playing pieces that were beyond my base level of conditioning and focusing too much on speed. This time I'm taking it slow and easy, playing simpler pieces, doing a lot more warm-up, and constantly focusing on minimizing tension. It's still early but I feel confident that this approach will let me keep playing without further problems. I would also be very grateful for any advice or suggestions that any of you who may have dealt with similar hand issues can offer.

Thanks for taking the time to read my introductory post. I look forward to participating in the forum.

Best regards,

John Jay

oski79

Re: Greetings from Kansas City

Post by oski79 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:10 pm

Welcome to Delcamp!